Dermatological Care for Sensitive Skin.
made in Switzerland.

Therapeutic field of "acne"

Acne is one of the most common skin diseases. It mainly affects the face, shoulders, cleavage, chest and back. During puberty, many adolescents suffer from acne, but adults can also be affected.


Cause

Specific glands in human skin secrete an oily substance, sebum. This reaches the surface of the skin through a duct along the hair shaft, where it forms a protective layer that is important for healthy skin. Sebum production is mainly influenced by sex hormones. During puberty, there is an increase in the production of sebum due to the hormonal changes. If the duct leading to the surface of the skin is also blocked, for example, by the skin producing too many keratinised cells due to a genetic predisposition, then the sebum builds up and blackheads develop. However, bacteria can also grow in the sebum build-up and cause inflammation in the surrounding tissue. Acne develops. Different severity levels are distinguished, depending on the extent of the disease (see image).
Acne thus has nothing to do with inadequate hygiene. There is also no evidence that certain foods, e.g. chocolate, have any effect on the development of acne. In contrast, we know that the manipulation and squeezing out of blackheads promotes inflammation.

Blemished skin

Mild acne

Moderate acne

Severe acne

Options for treatment

Acne can be treated. However, treatment must be administered at an early stage to prevent scarring. Measures for treatment target the overproduction of sebum, the keratinisation disorder, bacterial growth and the infection that is thus caused. Different forms of acne require different forms of treatment. Good therapeutic results can be achieved with the preparations that are available today and their consistent use. Four to six weeks are generally required for first successful results to become visible.

A distinction is made between topical and systemic (internal) treatment with reference to forms of treatment for acne. Topical treatment, in mild cases of acne, involves the application of a cream or gel to the skin after gentle cleansing, the active substances of which open up the blocked pores and have an anti-inflammatory and antibacterial effect.
The dermatologist may also prescribe targeted systemic treatment with, e.g. antibiotics, isotretinoin and also hormones in women (contraceptive pill) in severe cases of acne when topical treatment alone is insufficient. Isotretinoin is a substance that reduces keratinisation of the skin and sebum production and also inhibits inflammation.


Our products

The following Louis Widmer products are recommended for the treatment of acne. Consult a healthcare professional on which product(s) is/are best suited to you.

Lipo Sol Lotion

Acne Lotion

Acne Creme

Acne Creme Plus

Sebo creme

© 2016 Louis Widmer SA Legal information Privacy Policy Contact

Soins dermatologiques pour la peau sensible.
made in Switzerland.

Domaine thérapeutique de «l’acné»

L’acné est l’une des maladies cutanées les plus fréquentes. Elle touche essentiellement le visage, les épaules, le décolleté, la poitrine et le dos. La grande majorité des adolescents souffrent d’acné à la puberté, mais la maladie peut aussi affecter les adultes.


Cause

Certaines glandes cutanées humaines sécrètent une substance riche en graisse appelée sébum. Le sébum passe par un canal excréteur situé le long de la tige du poil et arrive à la surface cutanée où il forme un film protecteur essentiel à la bonne santé de la peau. Les hormones sexuelles constituent le principal régulateur de la production de sébum. Les changements hormonaux typiques de la puberté conduisent à une production accrue de sébum. Lorsque, simultanément, le canal excréteur de la glande se bouche, par exemple en raison d’un excès de cellules cornées d’origine héréditaire, le sébum s’accumule et des comédons (ou points noirs) se forment. L’accumulation de sébum peut aussi devenir un milieu propice à la prolifération de bactéries et conduire à une inflammation du tissu environnant. C’est l’acné. On distingue différents stades selon la gravité de l’affection (voir illustrations).
L’acné n’a donc rien à voir avec un manque d’hygiène. La théorie selon laquelle certains aliments comme le chocolat auraient une influence sur l’apparition de l’acné n’est pas prouvée. On sait en revanche que toucher et presser les comédons favorise les réactions inflammatoires.

Acné légère

Acné modérée

Acné moyennement sévère

Acné sévère

Possibilités de traitement

Il est possible de traiter l’acné, mais il faut appliquer le traitement suffisamment tôt, sans quoi des cicatrices peuvent apparaître. Les mesures thérapeutiques ont pour cible la surproduction de sébum, les troubles de la kératinisation, la prolifération bactérienne et les infections qui en résultent. Les différentes formes d’acné appellent différentes formes de traitement. Les produits aujourd’hui disponibles, lorsqu’ils sont appliqués de manière systématique, donnent de bons résultats. Il faut toutefois les utiliser au moins quatre à six semaines avant de voir les premiers effets.

Il existe soit des traitements locaux soit des traitements systémiques (à avaler) de l'acné. Dans le cadre du traitement local, c’est-à-dire pour les formes légères d’acné, on applique des crèmes ou des gels après un nettoyage doux de la peau. Ces produits débouchent les pores cutanés et ont un effet anti-inflammatoire et antibactérien.
Si l’acné est plus sévère et que le traitement local ne suffit pas, le dermatologue peut aussi prescrire un traitement systémique ciblé comme des antibiotiques, de l’isotrétinoïne et, chez la femme, des hormones (pilule contraceptive). L’isotrétinoïne est une substance qui limite la kératinisation de la peau ainsi que la production de sébum et inhibe la réaction inflammatoire.


Nos produits

Les produits suivants de Louis Widmer conviennent au traitement de l’acné. Demandez conseil à un spécialiste; il vous aidera à choisir le ou les produits qui vous conviennent le mieux. 

Lipo Sol Lotion

Acne Lotion

Acne Creme

Acne Creme Plus